Nervous system, Worky work, Internal fire

Okay, so I think it’s safe to say that I have officially proven to myself that I can walk in to my feet in backbends when Sharath is helping me. I do not explode into a mist of nervous system. So now I have to be more conscious about being present in that moment; actually savoring the action.

Yes, that’s what the inside of my head sounds like right now, as I try to pick out what my next step is here. That’s it. Simple.

***

Starting this morning at 3:30 AM, I’m back to taking con calls for work. It was nice to have four hours put in before I went to the shala this morning. It’s interesting to feel how work stuff gets my head all riled up. Even when things are going well, there’s a kind of tension. I wonder if I can work that through so that I can transcend the tension.

***

And last but not least, I smell like Indian food. It’s a little freaky. I’m going to spend the next few days eating only at western or Ayurvedic (no harsh spices) places. I actually feel hungover from spice. Too much gobi manchurian, for one thing. Too much chili and garlic paste.

I went over to Santosha for breakfast after practice and stuck with something I’d eat at home: tofu and veggie scramble, toast with jam, ginger tea. It was awesome and I don’t feel like my internal organs are on fire.

4 thoughts on “Nervous system, Worky work, Internal fire

  1. Just for the benefit of other readers: Karen does not smell like Indian food! Except to herself, apparently!

    It’s so funny though…. I find what we’ve been eating not terribly spicy, and would like to ratchet it up a notch.

    I must really stink!!!! 😀

    • She is! And even though my own India days are over, I still love reading about it (not just the yoga enclaves). What better than the personal accout of someone I actually know?

Leave a Reply

